Jeanne Elder Smith’s Knowledge of Keith’s Fraud


Jeanne Elder Smith Had to Have Known of Keith W Smith’s Academic and Professional Fraud

On August 31, 2014, Keith Smith made a partial confession

Keith W Smith

Keith W Smith

Keith Smith:

Confession and Repentance (note: there are links in this article in bold)

In recent months, it has been alleged that the doctorates that I claimed were false and the validity of my former qualifications were also questioned.

On Tuesday of this last week, I confessed that the allegations with regard to the doctorates were true. At a difficult time in my life, a friend had forwarded some of my work on a fresh approach to counseling to a university friend of theirs for review. The university friend replied that he thought it was excellent material and deserving of a doctorate. Almost straightaway friends started referring to me as “doctor”, pride got in the way, and the lie was born. As time went by, that lie grew. My previous qualifications also came under scrutiny. Unfortunately one of the institutions were I studied has been closed for over 20 years and so cannot confirm my three-years study there, and qualifications. It was also said that I was a graduate of Cambridge University, which I didn’t claim, having dropped out of my studies there due to a mental breakdown. I completed my studies elsewhere later.

So in the light of the above I do not feel it right to claim any higher qualifications, as my doctorate/s are nonexistent. I wholly renounce ANY title that I have heretofore used and wish to be referred to simply as Keith Smith.

My repentance is total, and in consultation with my wife Jeanne and trusted friends, I have prayed in confession and repentance to the Lord, seeking his grace and forgiveness.

My wife, Jeanne, had no idea of my lies and had complete confidence in me. I am ashamed of my betrayal of her trust, and that of others who gave me their trust.

I have sinned, I am embarrassed and ashamed. If any of you remember a sin at this time, may you be encouraged by to passages that are important to me.

1 Corinthians 6:9-11 (KJV)
Know ye not that the unrighteous shall not inherit the kingdom of God? Be not deceived: neither fornicators, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor effeminate, nor abusers of themselves with mankind,
Nor thieves, nor covetous, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor extortioners, shall inherit the kingdom of God. And such were some of you: but ye are washed, but ye are sanctified, but ye are justified in the name of the Lord Jesus, and by the Spirit of our God.

1 John 1:7-8 (KJV)
But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship one with another, and the blood of Jesus Christ his Son cleanseth us from all sin. If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us.

We have closed down our websites and suspended “Healing Communities”, I have stopped all active ministry for the time being, while I deal with the consequences of my sin and seek restoration.

Should any of you have questions please ask me as, your friend, neighbor or fellow church member will know no more about it than you, only I can answer your questions.

I ask you all for forgiveness and grace, and especially your prayers for both Jeanne and I.

Blessings,
Keith

Note in particular this Claim:

Jeanne Elder Smith

Jeanne Elder Smith

My wife, Jeanne, had no idea of my lies and had complete confidence in me. I am ashamed of my betrayal of her trust, and that of others who gave me their trust.

This is highly unlikely because:

  1. Keith Smith claimed to have received a PhD in 2002 from UCLA.
  2. Keith Smith is featured on page 5 of a brochure from the American Evangelistic Association (AEA, Inc) for a conference in Melbourne FL, in the Summer of 2005 which can be found HERE.
  3. Jeanne Elder (without the last name of Smith) was noted as the contact as the Secretary of Healing Communities.
  4. There is additional evidence online at this time that Jeanne Elder knew Keith Smith and had visited him in person in Spain (while he was married to his first wife Elaine) in the Summer of 2003 HERE.
  5. In the 2004 Archived Record in point 4 above, Jeanne Elder, acting as Keith Smith’s representative, claimed he had a PhD in Psychology.
  6. In the 2005 brochure there are other speakers and contacts referenced who had PhDs and Doctorates but Keith Smith, didn’t make his Doctoral Claims publicly in this brochure.  Jeanne Elder was referenced in this publication as well and was known to be with Keith Smith in Melbourne Florida, about 2005.
  7. It begs the question as to how Jeanne as Keith’s representative and administrative helper, despite the fact that others referenced in the brochure promoted their PhDs, Keith Smith and Jeanne didn’t assert his claim here.  Jeanne asserted it earlier in 2004.  Keith by his own admission, based his fraud in this area upon his ego and pride and yet this opportunity was missed.

The absence of evidence is not the evidence of absence so this is not absolute, but it remains in my opinion strong evidence that Keith and Jeanne Smith chose not to assert his claims in this context (closer to actual date of the fraudulently claimed degree) and that Jeanne Elder was in fact aware or should have been aware that Keith W Smith was highly selective in what contexts he would assert his claims and which ones he wouldn’t.  A reasonable person working closely with her employer (and there is more information being examined in this area that raises concern) should have asked questions and been aware that things weren’t adding up as to his claims.

Keith and Jeanne Smith are Complicit in the Smears of the Wrights

Jim Wright - Sexual Abuse Advocate?

Jim Wright – Sexual Abuse Advocate?

Keith W Smith, in addition to his already partial confession of fraud of academic and professional credentials has also been deeply involved as a primary “witness” in Jim and Marianne Wright’s attempt to smear multiple Christian Authors in the Organic and Simple Church communities.  Both the Smiths and Wrights were in these communities before their accusations were made and were active in their efforts prior to that to discredit some of the same people based on doctrinal and polity differences of opinion as well as clear efforts to promote themselves as alternate “leaders” to be followed.  The Smiths and Wrights are complicit in these charges.

The Wright’s Attempt to Cover-up for the Smiths

Marianne Wright

Marianne Wright

The Wrights have also attempted to minimize and cover-up for the Smiths in the matter of their fraud, despite the fact that the Wright’s claim to be advocates for survivors of sexual abuse and have defended Smith’s academic and professional fraud which includes probable abuse of children already traumatized by prior sexual abuse by providing or holding himself out to provide unqualified treatment to them.

No Follow-up To Continuing Lies and No Path to Restoration Revealed

To this point I am unaware of any further follow-up of Smith’s confession of Aug 31,, 2014 addressing the many remaining questions concerning his prior partial confession which included continued claims of degrees which are unproven and discredited by attempts to contact the school he claims issued him 2 MAs and the direct denial of any BA degree issued by Cambridge University.  There is no evidence of the prior partial confession being anything more than a halfhearted attempt at damage control.

It’s time to come clean Keith and Jeanne Smith, and Jim and Marianne Wright.

Leave a comment